Hello - And Uh Oh, I think I made a mistake!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

NewtoGym

Proud Parent
Hi all,
I am new to CB and new to gymnastics as well. My 6-year-old is on a level 2 preteam and today after practice I asked her coach when she would move up to level 3. She had only been there a month or so, but her skill set has improved so much and she is one of the oldest in the group. She seems to be one of the strongest. After i asked the question I instantly felt like that was not the best thing to do. I don't want to be a pushy parent and felt really stupid after asking. The coach thought a bit and then said she still needed to improve on beam. I understand that. No problem. My question for everyone here, is it ok to ask a coach when your daughter can move up, or do you wait. I am trying to figure it all out and just don't know the way yet! lol. Thanks everyone!:)

I think it should be fine to ask these kind of questions of the coach, but it depends on the way you ask. I think there is a difference between asking in a 'pushy' way and asking in a 'non-pushy' way!

Welcome to the CHalkbucket and to gymnastics.

It should be okay to ask any question of your coach. But often it feels like it isn't, they have to deal with all kinds of parents and often this makes them guarded.

I find a better way might be to say, "I am still learning about the gym stuff, what skills do the girls learn at this level, and what skills do they need to move to the next?". Coaches are often happy to help educate you, especially when they feel you aren't pushing too much.

Of course the more you learn, the more questions you have!!

Hi all,