need a crash course in grips!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Haha alright, second post of the morning.

As most of you might already know, I'm a 20 year old beginner gymnast. I work on bars a lot because of my ankle issues (and because I love bars!). I already have all the L4 bars skills except a mill circle because they're pretty pointless, and all the L5 bar skills except a kip which I'm currently working on. Unfortunately, I'm only able to go to a class one day a week and I end up ripping the same spot on my right hand every single class. I'm guessing the problem is that I'm not in the gym very much and when I am there, I'm working on skills that put a lot of pressure on my hands. I've been thinking that I probably need to get grips, but I honestly don't know anything about them.

If any of you could give me a crash course in grips it would be extremely helpful. Also, what type of grips would you recommend for a 20 year old? I'm fairly petite for my age and I'm not at all overweight or anything, in case that's relevant.

I just got Reisport grips.
I am also in the gym only 1 day a week and they really haven't helped with rips and such that much.
I really prefer not using them because I can't get them worn in enough that I like them. So each practice I put them on for a bit and then take them off so I can do my skills (because when I have them on the skills are limited because I don't feel comfortable doing them in grips.

So it's up to you but I think I'd suggest Reisport or Ten.0
ALSO make sure to get double long wristbands and not the short ones, otherwise the grips really dig into your skin.

Don't go get grips just to prevent a rip. Only being in the gym 1 day/week isn't giving you enough work on the bars to really toughen up the skin on your hands and do a lot of work with shifting your grip. You need time to just get used to the feel of the bar and then add the grips in later.