Off Topic Online Schooling?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Lizzy Brennan

Coach
Gymnast
Hi! What are your thoughts about online schooling? I'll tell you a little about myself first, I'm a 15 year old sophomore and an xcel platinum gymnast. Doing online school would not change my gym hours or effect my gymnastics at all.
I am mainly interested in doing this because of the anxiety and stress that normal school causes me. I hardly have friends, and am extremely socially awkward. I am (not trying to brag in any way) pretty smart. I am in all honors classes and have good grades (A - B- range), but I find myself getting bored and easily distracted in all of my classes but Algebra II. I have never been formally diagnosed with ADHD, but I'm about 90% I've got it. Focusing in class is a major struggle for me because I get bored, and I feel that an online curriculum would be able to fit my strengths and weaknesses.
I'm about to sound like every teenager that has ever gone through high school, but my teachers are bad. For example: A couple of days ago while I was in Algebra II, I was half-paying attention to what the teacher was saying, half-trying to write down what we were going to be quizzing on over the next few days. Well, I like to use different colors, so I was switching pens while I was writing, but the teacher must not have liked that. So, in the middle of the lesson he stops, looks at me, and says "I hope you're a good multi-tasker" he said something like this three more times as I turned stark white out of embarrassment. I tried to mutter an apology, but he wasn't going to have it. So, after calling me out in the middle of the class and embarrassing me to the point of tears, he finally continued on as I tried to hold it together.
This is a pretty common experience for me, and not just in this classroom. Biology, English, and Algebra II are all the same.