Parents Oy Safe Sport for my 17 yr old

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

D

Deleted member 18037

So my kid is 17, will be 18 in January.

So for her to be on the floor at 18, she needs to be safe sport trained(or certified, whateve). Where ahe is learning how to groom children (calm down that’s sarcasm).

Seriously, this is their solution to Nassar and abusive coaches.

Ive been signing off on this crud for a few years. But that my kid, needs this to somehow prove her not to be a danger to younger kids.

Ugh, it’s a waste of time.

edited to add it 10:30 p, she says she is going fast as she can not even done with unit 1. She started this afternoon

Last edited by a moderator:
How many units are there? And yes, it seems like a waste of time.

3 units, she just finished after 1230 am after starting early this afternoon.

From the little I looked at it’s useless.

The mean girl stuff, bullying/hazing at 17/18 it’s too late. If they made it to 17/18 they are past it, part of it, or putting up with it.

If it’s about recognizing abuse again, too late to stop it. They are almost done.

What happened is a day of my kids summer was wasted

Wow, really. That seems so crazy that a gymnast in the team would need to do that because they turn 18.

Here in Australia, kids don’t go away to college, like they do in the US. Most stay living at home while they attend local universities, so many just continue on with their gymnastics training at their clubs once the graduate school for as long as they desire.

Senior teams can easily just be a mix of teenagers and adults up to early 20’s or later on some circumstances.

The only people who need to go through the training is the coaches.