Parents Question about US Competition levels and ages

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

kitkat

Proud Parent
Our club will be attending a competition in the US. I have looked at some of the results and I am confused on how they break up the groups.
In Canada they are level and age. Sometimes the age is a couple of years together.

Is it the same in the US? The ones I looked at said junior or senior.
Do all level 9s or 10s compete against each other no matter if you are 11 or 15?

Thanks for the replies.
Kat

I'm new to this too (a whole two meets under our belt, lol) but in both meets it has been divided according to the birthdays of the gymnasts. They take all the gymnasts in the level ( in our case L4 ) and divide them into as equal size groups as possible. This means my June birthday kid competed in child B group in her first competition directly against one of her teammates with a November birthday (same year as her) and in the next meet she competed in Jr A directly against a different teammate with an April birthday, while her November birthday teammate competed in a younger age group. Clear as mud? So the age groups can differ totally from meet to meet depending on the birth dates of the gymnasts attending. :) hopefully I explained that ok, and I'm not sure that's how it works in optionals (since dd is L4 and in the compulsory levels). Good luck!

A lot will depend on the size of the meet.

My DD was the only one in her age group at her first optional meet. Yep, 4 first place events and all around champ. Never saw that happen before.....

When she was a L3, she was 7 and there were LOTS of 7YO L3s so they would divide them up into 7 Jrs. and 7 seniors. This year, she is in the youngest age group and is frequently grouped in a 9YO/10YO group. These are usually labeled things like Child, Jr. A, Jr B. That is kind of a signal that they sliced and diced them according to bday rather than just their number age.