Reluctant gym mom

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Completely new here. I'm from SC, but a funny thing happened while on vacation in Champaign, IL last week. We were at a 4th of July picnic and we had been mingling with others and having a pretty good time. A stranger approached me and asked, "Is that your son playing on the rings over there?" I said "Yep." He said, "I am a gymnastics coach here in Illinois and you need to get your son into gymnastics as soon as you get home from vacation."

HUH? Now, ds6 does have the nickname "Cirque", but I NEVER thought of he might have a talent for gymnastics.....he is just a boy having fun, right?

Sooo, I take him to a "gym" to do a class and see if he likes it. (he did) The coach asked if ds6 was joining and how long had my son been in gymnastics (I said "30 minutes as of right now"). So I was then told that ds6 was "a natural" and would be placed on the "boys team" if he joined. Okay, so ds6 may be the next greatest thing, but he is 6 and a child.

So here I am now. All over the internet....looking for answers. Team gymnastics just looks like a high-pressure environment with lots of injuries if ds6 sticks around and wants to "compete". Is there any other way....maybe just do recreational (guppies/butterflies/sharks kinda thing)? How long can you do "recreational"? (even if you are a "great gymnast", you don't have to compete, right?)

Okay, all done. I don't want to put my kid in gymnastics, but I want to be a little open-minded and see what you guys give me for advice.

Please don't flame, either, I'm just trying to gather information. thanks

bcnlvr