Seeking Opinions from Parents & Coaches

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I have a bit of a decision to make here and am looking for input.

Basically I am a pre team coach to kids who are born in 2004 and a few kids in 2003 too. For the past 9 or so months I have had 10 kids intotal that I coach, placed into 2 different training groups.

Now about a month ago, I handed out a summer schedule indicating we would be continuing the summer training in two different small groups of 5 athletes per group. My boss told me two groups of 5 was too small and that I needed to test more kids so I could fill the groups to have two groups of 7-8 kids each. So, I have been testing kids. Like 5 kids so far.

Here it the confusing part. NOW, in the past week I have found out that 1 kid of mine is moving up to another group and another kid is quitting, which puts me at 8 kids all together. SO, since I had 8 kids, we decided to combine them ALL into one group and forget the option of two training groups. Parents have all been notified there will only ben ONE group for the summer.

Now I tested this one kid, who is OUTSTANDING!! She is strong, flexible, naturally tight, and has nice form. I absolutely want her in my group, but don't know if 9 kids in a pre comp group of 5/6 year olds is biting off more than I can chew.

Coaches, have you had any experience doing something similar? Did it work out? Any advice?

Parents, would you be upset if your 5/6 year old were in a class this large? Any advice?

Thanks Everyone.

Last edited:
I would prefer a group of nine to have two coaches working together. NIne with one coach seems like just a few to many even for stations. Are you able to keep nine focussed and moving without them standing in line for ages?

Watching them is so important at this stage, I cannot imagine having to keep my eye on 4 different stations whilst spotting at the fifth.

I would prefer 6 in the group at that age, 7 absolute max.