to Compete, or to not Compete, That is The question.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Brandon

Coach
Gymnast
Hey there, this is my first, and I think this is where this topic would belong, but forgive me if it's not. :)

So I've been doing male artistic gymnastics for about 2 years now (I'm 13 years old), and now I have the option to compete. But here's the thing... well, things. Number one is that I'd have to leave my current gym where I'm comfortable, and my coach, who has been giving me free private lessons on his own time because he sees talent in me, and he has become basically a second father to me. Number two is a bit hard to say. Put simply, I'm horrified. I have what's called an anxiety disorder (no I'm not crazy or redarded...) which means there is a slight imbalence of saretonin( I'm sure I just murderd the spelling on that one!) in my brain. What does this mean? I get really scared, really easily. Nothing else, it's really that simple. And the thought of compeeting, honestly, scares the poo out of me. I think I might like it once I got used to it, but I dunno... Also, when I get nervous, I can sometimes have panic attacks. I would enter as a level 6, then move p to level 7 next year. Pretty much everyone thinks I should do it, and this is pretty much my only shot as well. I'm happy doing what I do for fun though, yet I don't want to have any regrets of not tleast trying. At the moment I got 4 days a week, 2 hours at a time. I'm doing level 7 skills for the most part. So yeah... what do you guys think I should do?

Basically that huge block of words above this is is me asking you if I should compete even though I have turbo-drived stage frieght. Also, I'm used to people watching, there's commonly 3-4 people just starring at me when I practice now, lol.

Thanks for any help,
Brandon