Undercutting.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
Hello people,:)

I've been working on my BHS for about 4 months now and I'm still having problems. I keep undercutting my BHS ( Drilling myself to the ground ) I have my Front Tuck, my Back Tuck perfectly but this skill is just killing me:(

Any advice/drills to stop undercutting my BHS?:confused:

Hello people,:)

I've been working on my BHS for about 4 months now and I'm still having problems. I keep undercutting my BHS ( Drilling myself to the ground ) I have my Front Tuck, my Back Tuck perfectly but this skill is just killing me:(

Any advice/drills to stop undercutting my BHS?:confused:

Is this a standing BHS or a roundoff BHS?

i had the same problem on beam. I would draw a line on the floor for my hands and try to get my hands on the line.

Stop doing it like a back tuck. The only thing the skills have in common is that they're backwards. (I can't be SURE that's what you're doing, but it's not improbable).

You should feel like you're going to fall on your heiney before you jump back, & you should really be reaching. Your arms should be behind your ears before you take off. Reach for the wall behind you, & make sure your heels are DOWN when you jump, knees behind them, hips behind THEM, etc.

When your going into the BHS, think about pushing through your feet off the ground. Just having that in your mind will help to make it longer.

My Coach keeps telling me "Push through your feet" but what exactly does that mean. Also, I might be able to provide a video later on:)

Thanks for the reply guys, you guys rock:D

Push through your feet just means when you are jumping backwards, point your toes off of the floor. Something else that might help you, looking at the video, is to try to keep your shoulder angle open. You are closing your shoulders, try to keep your arms up at your ears.