Parents Ups and downs

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

level9mom

Proud Parent
My dd is coming back from a three month absence due to illness. She's a power gymnast and is used to getting skills quickly. But...it's been hard this time. Her yurchenko is rough, bh-bt on beam is inconsistent, twisting on floor is challenging. She is so frustrated that last night she asked if she should quit. I'm not sure how to help her.

Every awful story begins with "we were on beam and..."

Well I'm not a doctor or a coach, but I would think it would take a while to rebuild her strength and retrain her body to know the skills again. Likely as long as she was off.

How long has she been back at it?

Poor kid! That must be so hard! I'm sure she knows at some level that it's going to take her awhile to be back 100%, but that doesn't keep it from being frustrating. Maybe the coaches could help her set some realistic goals? I definitely wouldn't let her quit while she's down. I would think she is very likely to regret it.

Dear daughter of level9mom,

I totally get how frustrating it can get. You went through all the hard work and Humpty Dumpty moments to learn all these skills you once upon a time were so happy and proud of. It must seem pretty unfair to have to put in another bunch of work just to get those skill back, to where they used to be, when you could spend your time learning something exciting.

Maybe, if you think about it, there is something really neat you can learn...... starting today. One of the best skills I ever teach my gymnasts is how to learn, and what makes their skills work. I love that part of the sport, the teaching how to learn part, because it's like handing them one of this sports "golden tickets" to future progress. So why don't I just drop the subject of your struggles, get back to work coaching, and let you do whatever..... like what does any of what I'm saying have to do with you......Well here's the deal.......