usaigc vs. usag-PLEASE HELP ME!!!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

My daugther is at a gym that is usaigc. She has the opportunity to move to a gym that is closer to us, but more expensive, but is usag. I am new to gymnastics so I don't know which is better.

She is competing bronze working on silver skills at the usaigc gym. She would be competing level 4 at the usag gym.

Please help! I have researched some, but it is still confusing. I am new to this site so I don't know if I will be able to find my way back to this post.

So if I can't, could someone please email me at

[email protected]

thanks so much!
denise

In a nutshell.... USAG is a much more competitive program. It all depends on what you and your daughter want out of the sport. If your daughter is trying to become elite or aim for a college scholarship, she really needs to be in the USAG program.

usag vs. usaigc

thanks. she is 7 now and has been in it only 1 year. she has progressed quickly and really enjoys the sport. as a parent, I just want to make a good decision for her. I would hate to take her out of this gym if it wasn't in her best interest.

how long has your daughter been competing? thanks again
denise

My daughter has only been competing for going on 4 years. She's a late starter (Level 4 as an 11 year old). She's now 14 and a Level 7... but things definitely get harder as you move up! She has dealt with injuries as well as mental blocks and fears in the last year. It's been difficiult, but she keeps plugging away at it!

With your DD only being 7, I'd definitely keep it more fun than pushing the competitiveness... esp. if she's in a program she's very happy with and is progressing well. If you decide to switch to a USAG program at a later date, she can always compete 1 meet at each level and qualify out until she reaches an optional level. It's not as if whatever decision you make right now is going to "make or break" her! Have fun!

thanks