Communication or lack there of....

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

mumoftwogymnasts

Proud Parent
I know that coaches are busy, I know that they have a life outside of gymnastics ... but if you repeatedly tell parents that emailing is the preferred method of communicating any questions or concerns... well then for goodness sake respond to the email :mad:

What do other parents think is an acceptable time frame to expect an answer? Coaches feel free to offer an opinion as well....

I'm a teacher and I answer all parents same day if I can but certainly within 24 hours. I would say no more than 2 days. I've never had a problem with dd's coaches answering right away.

Not a coach but a school teacher and it is highly recommended to answer any email or phone call with 24 hours.

Jumping on the "teacher not a coach" bandwagon (side note: we should start a group) but generally I try 24 hours as well. I work with at-risk/special need kids solely so I do more phone calls than e-mails, but those are also on a day note. Some of my colleagues are more 48-72 hour people max. But we live in a ski town and time is usually a non issue around here, so that's saying something. But there's a lot more bureaucracy pushing at us. Also another issue :)

Communication standards

In corporate America (in many companies) we are held to the standard of responding to voice or email questions or concerns within 24 hours. You don't always have an answer that fast, but you need to respond with a timeframe etc. It's a formalized expectation/policy where I work, and applied to employees at all levels of the organization. It applies to both internal (other employees) and external customers.