Parents Foam for crash mat

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

twinklytoes9468

Coach
Proud Parent
Hi
I am a coach and also a parent.I want to buy foam and make a couple of mats to put under our home bar.Does anybody know what grade of foam would be most suitable?

Every time I see questions like that I see this.

Cringe! We have a small bar but its only for pullovers, pull-ups, and what I call playground swinging. Things they were trying to do on furniture and banisters in our house. So the mat they use is only in inch thick. :)

Hi
I am a coach and also a parent.I want to buy foam and make a couple of mats to put under our home bar.Does anybody know what grade of foam would be most suitable?

i'm reticent to answer this question cause you say you're a coach. you should know the answer to this question. you probably don't have a foam fabricator anywhere near where you live, but you can check. if you're a coach, you should know who to call in the industry to get a bun of foam.

the foam is urethane and must be a minimum of 32lb density for the application in question. the higher the number, the more firm the foam.

and we don't call them crash mats anymore. they are called "skill" cushions. it's a legal distinction.

Every time I see questions like that I see this.

bejeebuz...no mat under or in front of the bar. nice mattress in the back in the wrong place. does anyone know if this child is still living?

bejeebuz...no mat under or in front of the bar. nice mattress in the back in the wrong place. does anyone know if this child is still living?
Still alive as of July 13, 2013. She did have to take 2 years off of tumbling (not sure what happened, but I know that she was 7 years old 3 years ago and competed L7 and was training L8). After 2 years of no tumbling, her mom posted videos of her doing ROBHSBT on mats in the yard... and a standing BT too. I would love to find out the back story of what took her out for 2 years.

Probably her back.