MAG Hi! New here. . .

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Men's Artistic Gymnastics

alongfortheride

Proud Parent
Just introducing myself. I have a little guy who was in a gymnastics class one hour a week last January-May. He took the summer off. He started in September as a Level 3, and quickly moved to Level 4, competed at Level 4 all year. Apparently he has talent for the sport, and he medaled a lot more than I had expected he would, for a beginner. He competed in 6 year old and under. He is now 7, and from what i hear will be moving up to Level 5 in the fall. He also is starting Future Stars, and will be attending that camp/clinic this summer.

I have to say, I am really new to all this, and originally started him in gymnastics because he is tiny, and I thought it would be good for him to have a sport he could have fun at and do well in. Now I am surprised, because he's doing better than I thought. We're definitely not really where I expected this road would take us. Anyway, life is full of surprises. We'll see what happens next. I never realized what a commitment gymnastics was before all this, that's for sure.

I'm still learning about boys' gymnastics. I have been lurking for a few months now, and figured I may as well join.

I can say it seems like most people don't know much about the sport. It's like, if you say your son is in soccer or baseball, everyone "gets" it, but not so much with gymnastics.

Hi and welcome! I'm pretty new as well and don't post too much. My son was also a 6yo L4 this year. He desperately wants to move up to L5 next season, but I'm not sure he'll learn all of the skills in time. I guess we'll see how the summer goes.