Parents So, our gym doesn't have a pit...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi All--

This is my very first post!

My DD is a 9 year old L6 who has been doing gymnastics for 2 years (just about to the day). She never did rec or pre-team. Instead, she spent years tumbling on (and off!) my furniture until my mother said, "Get that kid in gymnastics!" lol So we went to our local gym, they watched her for 30 minutes, and put her on the L3 team (which competes in our state). She joined L3 in November and won States in April. Then she did most of a year at L4, skipped L5 (got a qualifying score) and is now a L6.

Sorry...that sounded braggy! Not at all my intent. Just stating that even though my DD is a L6, I am kinda new to lots of this.

And I certainly don't know anything when it comes to choosing or switching gyms.

So as the title states, her gym does NOT have a pit. How big of a deal is this? I mean, I know that a pit makes it easier/safer to learn more advanced skills. But with proper spotting, does it matter?

There is an excellent gym about half an hour away. But with her current gym, she takes the bus from school, so it is SUPER easy and convenient. Plus lots of her school friends are there. And it is only a 5 minute drive from my house. I know that convenience isn't the main thing to consider when choosing a gym (or when choosing to change gyms), but I have 2 other kids who are incredibly active in their sports as well, so it sure makes my life easier that getting this one to and from gymnastics is so easy.

What are your thoughts? Is not having a pit a reason to move gyms? Thanks!