WAG Nervous at Competitions

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

KLgym

Gymnast
Hi guys. I have been a reader on ChalkBucket for a while now, but this is my first time posting a thread. To introduce myself, I am a level 10 gymnast.
The question I need help with is how to handle competitions. I actually have pretty high level skills, and complete them with very nice technique-in practice. The problem, is that when it comes to competitions, I get very nervous. So nervous in fact, it affects my performance, because I am literally shaking. So hard, it causes me to fall off the beam, or mess up a tumbling pass.
If anyone has anything to help, whether it's for during practice, before the meet, or even right before I get on the event, please give me some tips. Any help is appreciated!
Thanks

Before an event… close your eyes. Take a couple deep breaths and tell yourself, "This is just another practice. You've got this." Take another deep breath. Open your eyes. When its time, salute the judge and GO FOR IT!

Normally I would say that time will help- usually once someone is used to competing the jitters dissipate, but you've obviously already been competing for years to get to level 10. Have you been this nervous the whole time? Can you pinpoint what exactly is pressing your nerves? Is it the watching spectators (family/ friends), or your coach's reactions, or perhaps fear of a negative outcome?

Normally I would say that time will help- usually once someone is used to competing the jitters dissipate, but you've obviously already been competing for years to get to level 10. Have you been this nervous the whole time? Can you pinpoint what exactly is pressing your nerves? Is it the watching spectators (family/ friends), or your coach's reactions, or perhaps fear of a negative outcome?